Uploaded image for project: 'LAMS Development'
  1. LAMS Development
  2. LDEV-1737

Modify Define in Monitor so it doesn't show the "Re-Edit" or "Close" page

    Details

    • Type: New Feature
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2.3
    • Fix Version/s: 2.4
    • Component/s: Tools
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      Currently, After saving a Define in MOnitor activity (from monitor, obviously) you get to the "Re-Edit" or "Close"

      But the problem is that once we save the page, we are releasing the "Define monitor" and the kids are in the activity.... so if I reedit the content afterwards, the kids are already IN the activity.

      Solution: Fiona suggested to have a look at the action forward so instead of showing the "Re-Edit" or "Close" Page, we just close this window altogether.

      However, we might need to put an info div at the top of the page to let teachers know that after they have "Save" the kids are getting in the activity.

        Activity

        Hide
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment -
        Done
        Show
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment - Done
        Hide
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment -
        Noticeboard is good now.

        Ozgur's tools are just designed to suite editing inside (and not leaving) tool's monitor window.
        so I wouldn't call this a bad decision, it's just unfortunately inconsistent with the way other tools work.
        Show
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment - Noticeboard is good now. Ozgur's tools are just designed to suite editing inside (and not leaving) tool's monitor window. so I wouldn't call this a bad decision, it's just unfortunately inconsistent with the way other tools work.
        Hide
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment -
        Andrey, can you please check noticeboard? It is the only one that still shows the "Close" "Edit" page.

        All the rest are good (except Ozgur tools)
        Show
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment - Andrey, can you please check noticeboard? It is the only one that still shows the "Close" "Edit" page. All the rest are good (except Ozgur tools)
        Hide
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment -
        done
        Show
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment - done
        Hide
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment -
        Andrey, this works great. Please apply to all other tools. Thanks
        Show
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment - Andrey, this works great. Please apply to all other tools. Thanks
        Hide
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment -
        Hey Ernie,

        I committed fix only for Forum tool.
        Can I please ask you to test whether it works for you so I can commit it for the rest of the tools?
        thanks


        And as for the issue Luke had mentioned - it was fixed as LDEV-2329
        Show
        dronych Andrey Balan added a comment - Hey Ernie, I committed fix only for Forum tool. Can I please ask you to test whether it works for you so I can commit it for the rest of the tools? thanks And as for the issue Luke had mentioned - it was fixed as LDEV-2329
        Hide
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment -
        Andrey, can you assess what it would take to make this happen please? Let me know so we can see if we leave this at 2.4 or move it to 2.4.x
         Thanks
        Show
        ernieg Ernie Ghiglione added a comment - Andrey, can you assess what it would take to make this happen please? Let me know so we can see if we leave this at 2.4 or move it to 2.4.x  Thanks
        Hide
        lfoxton Luke Foxton added a comment -
        Another issue here,

        If the teacher goes to edit an activity, then cancels, the defineLater flag is never cleared, and students cannot enter that activity until the teacher returns to activity edit and saves. Perhaps we need to clear the defineLater flag in the ClearSession action.
        Show
        lfoxton Luke Foxton added a comment - Another issue here, If the teacher goes to edit an activity, then cancels, the defineLater flag is never cleared, and students cannot enter that activity until the teacher returns to activity edit and saves. Perhaps we need to clear the defineLater flag in the ClearSession action.

          People

          • Assignee:
            dronych Andrey Balan
            Reporter:
            ernieg Ernie Ghiglione
          • Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            0 Start watching this issue

            Dates

            • Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:

              Development